Reviews

Here's what you are saying about 
Grandma Abson's Traditional Baking talks and events

2017
May 2017
11 May Bents Green WI
Jill writes Hi Meryl - thanks so much for attending our event last night.  It was lovely to hear about your Grandma and your baking - it has even inspired me to make a cake this weekend!! We will hopefully see you again.

April 2017
30 April May Day at Cusworth Hall
Nicola writes : Hi Meryl  Thanks so much for coming in on Sunday, I hope it was a good day for you, it was brilliant for me!
2016
October 2016
4 Oct Bents Green Friendship Club
Pat writes : Many thanks from BENTS GREEN for such a lovely and interesting ( as well as yummy!) talk yesterday .We all loved it. Gracias!

July 2016
5 July Wilthorpe Community Club
Liz writes : Dear Meryl Once again thankyou for visiting our Afternoon club. We all thoroughly enjoyed your talk, (and your delicious baking). I personally bought your Grandma's recipe book and will testing out quite a few cakes. We could see were you proud of your Grandma, and rightly so, she led an ordinary life, and made the best she could ( of the times); this came across when you were re-living her past to us. Thankyou once again.
June 2016
18 June Turn the Page Festival Doncaster
Shirley writes : Hi Meryl I just wanted to pass on our thanks for taking part in our Turn the Page festival on Saturday. Carole from our team, wanted to say a special ‘thank you’ and said it was a pleasure to finally meet you, after all she’d heard following the Afternoon Tea talks. We had some great feedback and everyone loved the cakes! 

15 June Rotherham Distaff
Julie writes : Hello Meryl Thank you very much for coming to Distaff and giving us a very enjoyable evening. Your talk was very interesting as well as entertaining and I'm sure our ladies learned facts about Afternoon Tea that they didn't know before! Your cake was delicious and the book is excellent, I will enjoy using it as I am sure all the ladies who bought one will. It was lovely to meet you, thanks once again.

April
5 Apr Armthorpe WI
Sandra writes : Hi Meryl  Just a note to thank you very much for your excellent presentation at our WI on Tuesday.The ladies loved it and especially your delicious samples of cakes and biscuits - they went down very well indeed. I think we all learned something and a bit of history into the bargain is always good news.

March
22 Mar Mattersey Villages Together gp
Gaynor writes : Hello Meryl   I would just like to thank you again for coming to give your talk in Mattersey. We enjoyed it thoroughly and I am looking forward to trying some of your recipes!

21 Mar Wheatley Local History Gp
Audrey writes : Dear Meryl  Thank you for a very interesting talk you gave this morning and  also for the lovely cakes. Regards Audrey

2015
December 2015
11 Dec Goldthorpe Christmas Market 
Heather wrote : “If it is your aim to get people baking, you have achieved that with me, as this was quite a challenge I set myself, after the inspiration I got from your demonstration in Cusworth.  I don’t see myself as ‘not a baker’ now.” 

October 2015
28 Oct Doncaster & District Family History Society
June writes an ecard : Hello Meryl On behalf of our Chairman and all who attended your talk last night at the College for the Deaf, I would like to say a big thank you. I know that your talk was enjoyed by all, including the men – could have been to do with your lovely samples of cake.... I am going to see what I can bake from your book and send to our granddaughter. Once again many thanks. 


15 Oct The Belles of St Henry’s 
Linda wrote : Dear Meryl Thank you so much for an entertaining night at our Belles meeting. How wonderful to have known a Grandma like yours. I have two grandchildren... and they both love baking so we will be trying Grandma Abson’s recipes out soon. Hopefully we will see you again soon with your story of how afternoon teas originated.  And they put a photo of me on Facebook Belles of St Henry's :  Big THANK YOU to Meryl from Grandma Abson's Traditional Baking for her inspiring talk last night. A brilliant insight to working in service, baking in times of rationing and more importantly passing beautiful recipes down the family line.


12 Oct Thorpe Marsh Ladies
Julie wrote : Thank you so much for another fantastic talk!   

6 Oct Caunton WI
The group wrote on the Caunton WI Facebook page  Thankyou Meryl for an insight into traditional recipes created by your Grandma. It s lovely to see you still using her recipes and spreading her legacy today!

August 2015
19 August  Armthorpe Community Library
Shirely writes with comments about the Afternoon Tea event :
“I shall enjoy my cuppa more, knowing all the facts of tea!!”
“Very enjoyable afternoon, excellently presented.”
“Excellent – very informative and wonderful cakes!”
“A lovely friendly afternoon – hope you do more afternoons like this.”
“Very enjoyable – good talk, nice atmosphere and lovely cakes.”
“Looking forward to more events like this. Enjoyed it very much.”
“Cake with a talk – couldn’t get better!”

And lastly, a big thank you to you, Meryl. As you can see, everyone really enjoyed the informative but informal presentation, the lovely ‘buzz’ in the room that surrounded it and of course, the cakes from Grandma Abson’s book. 

June 2015
25 June Treeton Local History Group
Margaret writes : I just wanted to thank you for your interesting talk.  Afternoon tea with friends is certainly one of life's little pleasures and long may it continue! I know that everyone enjoyed the evening and it was nice that many members shared their own memories.  I think that Peter mentioned to you the connection between Boston Castle in Rotherham and the Boston Tea Party. Many thanks again for visiting us and bringing such delicious cakes.   Best wishes Margaret

May 2015
27 May Misson and Springs WI
Lynda writes :  Dear Meryl  Thank you very much for the most interesting and enjoyable talk you gave to us last night, and for the cake, which I know was much appreciated.  One of the original aims of the WI is to educate women, and I know that we all learnt something from you last night. We are now looking forward to trying some of the recipes!  Kind Regards Lynda

5 May Warmsworth Ladies Club
Margot sent a lovely card. Dear Meryl. I would like to thank you for a delightful evening at Warmsworth Ladies Club and I look forward to wowing my family with a whole new variety of cakes. With kind regards Margot

March 2015
23 March Gawber Ladies
Julia sent a lovely card for my birthday with a charming note.

February 2015
9 February Thorpe Marsh Ladies
Julie sends a lovely card :

5 Feb Stainforth Local History Group
Pearl sends a note to say she missed a ‘good’un!

4 Feb Dronfield Afternoon Townswomen
Tricia writes : Dear Meryl  Many thanks for your talk to our Guild on Wednesday everyone said how much they had enjoyed it. Tricia

3 Feb Wombwell Probus 
 Mary writes : ‘Hi Meryl Thanks for visiting our Group this morning and I have to tell you we all enjoyed your excellent presentation about the life of Grandma Abson and the wonderful recipes which you and many people are still using and enjoying. Thanks again. Regards  Mary.

January 2015
21 Jan Owston Ferry WI
Teresa writes on Grandma Abson’s Facebook page “Owston Ferry WI loved your talk about your Grandma and her life story. The cakes were delicious and I am looking forward to trying some of the recipes. Hope you had a safe drive home.

7 Jan Bessacarr Ladies Luncheon Club  
Dear Meryl  Just a little email to say a big thank-you for the excellent talk you gave to our Club in January. We enjoyed hearing about your grandma and her baking, and especially tasting the cakes you brought for us to sample! Many thanks and best wishes Jean.
2014 
December 14 
Excelle Magazine Grandma’s Xmas Cake
November 14 
27 Nov Chat Room Sprotbrough Chris writes : Just to say thank you for coming with your talk and bringing all those cakes.  It was a really good afternoon and it was clear it was enjoyed by all; in fact they kept coming up to the hatch while we were washing up and saying how much they had enjoyed the afternoon.  


26 Nov Norton WI Meryl received this cute thank you card.  

3 Nov Kate writes from Bawtry Mayflower: ‘I just wanted to say another big thank you for coming in and working with our Y6 children. They had a fantastic afternoon and really enjoyed it.’

October 14
24 Oct Off the Shelf The History of Afternoon Tea
Hello Meryl   I came to your Afternoon Tea presentation at Stocksbridge library last week and had a brilliant time. I have been to about 20 'Off The Shelf' events this year in Sheffield and yours is my favourite.... Best wishes Francesca

 August 14 
26 August St Aidan’s Church, Wheatley Doncaster 
Dear Meryl Thankyou very much for coming to our Wheatley Hills "Senior Cits" meeting this afternoon and giving us such an entertaining visit. All our members thoroughly enjoyed it and have told me this. Best wishes Mike


Charlotte’s view In celebration of Baking (& Grandma’s book)
The Star 19 August 2014
http://www.thestar.co.uk/what-s-on/my-view-charlotte-taylor-in-celebration-of-baking-1-6791815

July 14 
31 July The Scott Practice Patients Participation Group
Hi Meryl,I should like to thank you on behalf of our Scott Practice Patient Participation Group for a most enjoyable presentation on Tuesday.I am looking forward to trying out some of the recipes.Your Orange cake was so delicious I will try that first from the book! It was most interesting hearing about your Grandma and the old ways of cooking. My mum did all her cooking in a coal range with almost no equipment and foodstuffs hard to come by. Again, many thanks for a happy afternoon! Best wishes, Anne 

Recipes featured in 
Gramma Good Fat Rascals July 2014
Excelle Magazine Lemon Cake June 2014
April 14  
29 April Glynis writes Thank you Meryl for your interesting and informative talk this evening for the Bentley Methodist Church Women's Association.
April Edition of Aspire magazine Aspire Magazine  Scrumptious Simnel Cake for Easter 

February 14
20 Feb Springwell Ladies 
Penny writes :  On behalf of the Ladies of the Club, I am just writing to thank you very much for coming to the Club last Thursday to give a talk and show your slides on your Grandma Abson’s Traditional Baking.  We all thoroughly enjoyed the evening and found it most entertaining and informative, as well as enjoying your home made cakes. I’m sure the ladies who bought your book will be busy baking away. Wishing you continued success with your baking and talks.

Grandma's recipes featured in 


Excelle Magazine   4 Make your own wedding cake February 201


Deliciously Yorkshire November 2013

Our Yorkshire Fat Rascals November 2013

Deliciously Yorkshire Plum and Almond Flan September 2013

19 Sept The Daily Meal 
Grandma's Plum Pudding recipe featuring on the website : "This classic recipe for plum pudding will bring smiles on Christmas Day." http://www.thedailymeal.com/plum-pudding-recipe

6 Sept Deliciously Yorkshire via Twitter     Courtesy of Grandma Abson’s Traditional Baking we have a recipe which will use some scrummy plums!

http://deliciouslyorkshire.co.uk/recipes/view/195/plum-and-almond-flan

September MODE Magazine
Win a whole shelf full of cookery books including Grandma Abson's Traditional Baking
http://issuu.com/modemagazineuk/docs/mode_doncaster_issue_23web/55?e=3086074/4566292


Aug 2013  Doncaster Free Press
Our Grandmas baked the best
As the Great British Bake off takes to the screens, people of all ages are back to baking again!
July 13 : Cusworth Hall
Frank writes : Hello Meryl, thanks for joining in with our last lot of tours. Your involvement is much appreciated by staff and visitors!

June 13 : Tickhill Countrywomen
Sylvia writes : Dear Meryl the cakes were delicious and the book brilliant -   so many remembered treats from the past. One lady, who spoke to you,  is a diabetic and is going to begin baking again. I saw her this morning in Taylors looking at ingredients.

May 13 : Spiced Lemon and Walnut Bake on Deliciously Yorkshire website

http://deliciouslyorkshire.co.uk/recipes/view/187/spiced-lemon-and-walnut-bake

Apr 13 : Baking on the Range at Clifton Park Museum :
Joan writes : Hope you enjoyed the day, it was good to have you there.
Wendy writes : It all looked really good and sounds like everyone enjoyed themselves!
Lorna writes : Your biscuits came out really well.  Do you think you’ll come back and cook again?


Apr 13 : Jo writes : Two of Grandma's popular recipes are now featuring on Wetherby Hour's website 
Click here for scones
Click here for Fruit & Honey Bars

Mar 13 : Kirsty writes about the Comic Relief Bake off at Doncaster College:  Really enjoyed today. Glad I took part definitely inspired me to start baking again. Forgot how much fun it could be!

Mar 13 : Message from Amy at Waterstones, Doncaster : I'm sooo pleased with how the bake off went! Can't believe we raised that much money! Thanks so much for manning the fort, I know we were really busy that day. 


Mar 13 Message from Sandra Armthorpe WI : We all thoroughly enjoyed your presentation, it was a real treat as were the biscuits. As quite a few of us bought your book, I am looking forward to some new cakes and pastries at our next coffee morning!!! ..... I think it is always great to hear about historical happenings and especially as interesting as food and how the recipes came about - I love stuff like that and as many of our ladies had relatives who worked in the large Houses of yesteryear so could relate to a lot of what you told us.

Feb 13 Message from George at Hodsock Priory Snowdrops : We loved having you to speak during the snowdrop season.


Feb 13 Message from Chris (Chat Room) :  I have just come upstairs to drop you a note to say ‘thank you’ for this afternoon.  It went down really well; we love it when we sense people are involved and we all love to reminisce.  On the radio today they were discussing why there is this current baking and cooking frenzy.  However, they said that there is a missing generation of cooks and bakers as the current young people have never been taught so they are picking it up as they go via tv, books, You Tube etc. – it’s something ‘different’ and as we would say, what goes around comes around. Once again many thanks.

Feb 13 Comment from Janet (Harlington & Barnburgh WI) : I had so many positive comments – your talks really struck chords with us all! I’m looking forward to making Bridlington Cake this weekend! 

Feb 13 Comment from Debbie (Inclusive Living) : Many thanks Meryl for such a lovely presentation you gave us.  Everyone was very enthused with it - in fact I think I will bake this weekend.


Jan 13 Lemon Delicious Pudding on Deliciously Yorkshire website

Jan 13 Stef (Dinnington Townswomen) writes : Hi Meryl  Many thanks for a great evening last night, thoroughly enjoyed it! Cheers Stef


Dec 12 Grandma Abson’s Christmas Cake at Deliciously Yorkshire

Dec 12 MODE magazine and MODE Local
Grandma Abson’s Christmas Cake Recipe pages 20-21

Oct 12 Julia writes : On behalf of Gawber Ladies Monday Club, I would like to thank you for coming to speak to our group. It was a lovely evening and all enjoyed listening about your life with Grandma Abson and how your recipe book evolved. A lasting memory of her and I'm sure she would have been very proud. Congratulations on your achievement and thank you for brining the delicious cake samples. Julia

Sept 12 Lucy writes on behalf of Mary Berry  :
Dear Meryl     Mary enjoyed reading about your book and seeing your blog... she wishes you every success with sales and your events.  Hope you continue to enjoy the Bake Off Best wishes Lucy  Assistant to Mary Berry  www.maryberry.co.uk



Aug 12  The Star 
Meryl’s Olympic treat for Games Maker pals 
Meryl's Olympic treat for Games maker pals

Aug 12 Our Meryl is an Olympic baking star! 

April 12 Sheffield City Council Libraries 
Wendy writes : Dear Meryl I just wanted to say a big thank you for the Grandma Abson's Traditional Baking talk. It went down really well and everyone enjoyed the talk and sharing their own experiences and thoughts. I'm going to try out some of the recipes from the book and am looking forward to extending my baking repertoire! 

The Star, Sheffield  9 April 2012 Bake like Gran
http://www.thestar.co.uk/news/bake-like-gran-at-author-talk-1-4431683

SPRING 2012 EVE Wellbeing magazine

 Jan 2012 The Star  Sweet truth 

Dec 2011- Jan 2012 'Tasting Notes' section of ‘Living North’ magazine Winter edition

December 2011 Saga’s Grandma's Recipe for Boxing Day Cake 

30 Nov 2011  Pudding can have plum role    By Jo Davison


Nov 2011 Saga Bonfire Night Grandma's Parkin recipe

Oct 2011 Cathi writes : 
Hi Meryl   I just wanted you to know that the chocolate coconut thingie was the BEST EVER!!!!!!! It certainly did smell fabulous too. Perfect!  We would be very happy to test that recipe as often as you wish!   X Cathi



Aug 2011 Wendy writes : I was so pleased to get my copy of Grandma Abson's Traditional Baking. I don't do so much baking now but I have enjoyed baking and am tempted to try the recipes. It brought back many happy memories. I still have my mother's recipes collected from family and friends with their names listed as well. 

Jun 2011 Carol writes : I'm enjoying your Blog. I'm sending you Mum's Bero book for your collection as I've seen the pictures of others on your site. 


Jun 2011 Freda writes : Thankyou for your beautiful cookery book. I am enjoying reading it.


Facebook
Grandma Abson's Traditional Baking  20 November 2011

Sarah Allen Cruz I came and tasted a gorgeous (not overly sweet) cake and have been reading the book and showing it to friends ever since. Its a goldmine of fantastic recipes. You won't get this from any TV chefs and its a breath of fresh air. Thank you Meryl.
Nov 2011 Deliciously Yorkshire
Hi Meryl  Hope you like this piece of coverage! Good luck with the book, we wish you every success!  http://www.deliciouslyorkshire.co.uk/dy/news/grandma-absons-traditional-baking/

Waterstones
Oct 11  Waterstones Park Lane Meadowhall, Sheffield  Liz writes :Hi Meryl! Just to say, many thanks for coming on Saturday. It was lovely to meet you and I'm so pleased the signing was a success!  Thanks also for the cake you left us- very yummy!

Waterstones reviews
Overall rating: 
5 out of 5
Location:
London UK
31 October 2011
A great book which is simple and easy to follow. There are conversion tables at the front of the book plus I really liked the helpful hints and glossery. Try the Bridlington Cake a bit different and very yummy!
Overall rating: 
4 out of 5
Location:
Bristol, England
A good basic book
07 August 2011
Very practical in presentation. Good basic recipes. Optional metric measurements would be useful; not everyone has experience of Imperial measures

Amazon
Customer Reviews


2 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star: (0)
3 star: (0)
2 star: (0)
1 star: (0)
Average Customer Review

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic recipes29 Sep 2011
By 
Have already made three of the cakes in this book and would highly recommend. Love the History that goes with this book, and the story of Grandma Abson included.

5.0 out of 5 stars Easy To Follow4 Dec 2011
By 
I found this recipe book to be a great collection of easy to follow classic recipes. It covers all the classic cakes, buns, scones, biscuits, toffees, puddings and desserts (as well as things like Jams and Chutneys but I haven't tried those recipes yet).

Press coverage of Launch of Grandma's book June 2011

Cookbook serves up a taste of granny’s kitchen
Yorkshire Post - published on Saturday 11 June 2011
http://www.yorkshirepost.co.uk/news/at-a-glance/main-section/cookbook_serves_up_a_taste_of_granny_s_kitchen_1_3469436

Recipes from the past a big hit
The Star - published on Wednesday 8 June 2011
Grandma Abson's recipes have been turned into a cook book


No comments:

Post a Comment